dr. C Gao

Assistant Professor
Electronic Circuits and Architectures (ELCA), Department of Microelectronics

Expertise: Digital Circuit Design, AI Hardware, Neuromorphic Computing, Artificial Intelligence

Themes: Health and Wellbeing, XG - Next Generation Sensing and Communication


Dr. Chang Gao (高唱) is a tenure-track Assistant Professor at the Department of Microelectronics, TU Delft, from August 2022. Dr. Gao obtained his Ph.D. degree with distinction from the Institute of Neuroinformatics (INI), University of Zurich and ETH Zurich, in December 2021. His Ph.D. thesis was about designing energy-efficient accelerators of recurrent neural networks (RNNs) for real-time inference.

His research interest is designing energy-efficient digital AI hardware for edge computing, emphasizing ultrahigh-speed communication, video/audio processing, robotics, and biomedical applications. He is also an enthusiast of neuromorphic computing. He is spending efforts to bridge the gap between artificial neural networks (ANNs) and spiking neural networks (SNNs) by applying brain-inspired neuromorphic principles to massively accelerate the computation of state-of-the-art deep neural network (DNN) architectures while maintaining competitive accuracy on real-world tasks. 

Dr. Gao serves as a reviewer for journals, including IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (TPAMI), IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems (TNNLS), IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits (JSSC), IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular (TCAS-I), IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (TBIOCAS), and Neural Networks.

He was the Best Paper Award recipient of the 2020 IEEE International Conference on Artificial Intelligence Circuits and Systems (AICAS). He is a co-recipient of the 2020 Misha Mahowald Prize for Neuromorphic Engineering as a team member of the Dynamic Audio Sensor (Silicon Cochlea) development team led by Prof. Shih-Chii Liu at the Sensors Group, Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich. He recently received the 2022 Mahowald Early Career Award in Neuromorphic Engineering and was granted the 2022 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship.


Last updated: 22 Mar 2023