prof.dr. K.A.A. Makinwa

Professor, Department Head
Electronic Instrumentation (EI), Department of Microelectronics

Expertise: Design of precision analog circuits, sigma-delta ADCs, low-offset amplifiers, voltage and frequency references, sensor interface circuits and smart sensors.


Kofi Makinwa holds degrees from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (B.Sc., M.Sc.), Philips International Institute, Eindhoven (M.E.E.), and Delft University of Technology, Delft (Ph.D.). From 1989 to 1999, he was a research scientist at Philips Research Laboratories, where he designed sensor systems for interactive displays, and analog front-ends for optical and magnetic recording systems. In 1999 he joined Delft University of Technology, where he is currently an Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Professor of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Engineering and Head of the Microelectronics Department.

Dr. Makinwa holds more than 25 patents, has authored or co-authored more than 200 technical papers and 7 books and has co-edited 5 more. He is the Chair of the Analog Subcommittee of the International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC), and also serves on the program committees of the VLSI Symposium, the European Solid-State Circuits Conference (ESSCIRC) and the workshop on Advances in Analog Circuit Design (AACD). He has served on the program committees of the International Conference on Solid-State Sensors, Actuators and Microsystems (Transducers), the IEEE Sensors Conference and Eurosensors. He was a distinguished lecturer of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (2008 to 2011) and a three-time guest editor of the Journal of Solid-State Circuits (JSSC). He has given several invited talks and tutorials at international conferences such as ISSCC, ESSCIRC, ASSCC and the VLSI symposium. At the 60th anniversary of ISSCC, he was recognized as one of its top ten contributing authors.

For his Ph.D. research, Dr. Makinwa was awarded the title of 'Simon Stevin Gezel' by the Dutch Technology Foundation (STW). In 2005, he received a VENI grant from the Dutch Scientific Foundation (NWO). He is a co-recipient of several best paper awards: from the JSSC (2), ISSCC (4), VLSI (1), ESSCIRC (2) and Transducers (1). He is an IEEE Fellow, an alumnus of the Young Academy of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and an elected member of the AdCom of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society.

Last updated: 1 Nov 2017

MSc students