Best ESSCIRC Paper Award for EI student

At the 2023 European Solid-State Circuits Conference (ESSCIRC), former EI student Shubham Mehrotra will receive the 2022 Best ESSCIRC Paper Award for the paper entitled “A 590 µW, 106.6 dB SNDR, 24 kHz BW Continuous-Time Zoom ADC with a Noise-Shaping 4-Bit SAR ADC”. The paper describes the design of a high-performance analog-to-digital converter for audio applications. This was the main result of his M.Sc. graduation project, which was done in collaboration with NXP Semiconductors. The other co-authors are E. Eland, S. Karmakar, A. Liu, B. Gonen, M. Bolatkale, R. van Veldhoven and K. Makinwa. The paper can be found at


The 2022 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant awarded to dr. Karen Dowling

The 2022 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant (€203K) Awarded to dr. Karen Dowling.Dr. Karen Dowling’s MSCA-PF was granted for her project titled “Precise X-Y-Z Readout with a micro-Magnetometer Inverted-pyramid Design (PYRAMID), ” in collaboration with Prof. dr. Kofi Mankinwa.

EU project TeraGreen and targets Tbps energy-efficient wireless links for future 6G networks

Nuria Llombart Juan (TSz group) got a 4-year EU project, called ‘TeraGreen and targets Tbps energy-efficient wireless links for future 6G networks’ (5 mln. Euro in total) granted. The TUD is the administrative and scientific coordinator of the project.

Clémentine Boutry receives ERC starting grant

Clémentine Boutry from the ECTM group of our department was awarded the ERC Starting grant. This European grant of €1.5 million for a five-year research programme is intended to enable individual scientists to build their own teams and conduct groundbreaking research.

Charlotte Frenkel (EI group) receives Veni grant

The Veni grant is a funding instrument from the Talent Programme of the Dutch Research Council (NWO). It allows researchers who have recently obtained their PhD to conduct independent research and develop their ideas for a period of three years. The Veni grant amounts to a maximum of EUR 280,000. A total of 17 researchers from TU Delft received a Veni, including Charlotte Frenkel from our department. A fantastic achievement!